Crock Pot Goodness

11 Aug

A few years ago, my husband and I went to a BBQ at my girlfriend’s house and she had made “Slow Simmering B-B-Q Sandwiches” in her crock pot.  It was delicious and to this day my husband still will bring up those sandwiches and say that he wished I would make them.  Well, I got the recipe from her a long time ago, but I never made it.  I had never made anything in a crock pot and I didn’t know what to expect.  I am now kicking myself in the butt for waiting so long to try it out!  I found her recipe and a slow cooker recipe book two days ago while cleaning. So this afternoon I pulled out the new crock pot, headed to the store to buy my first chuck pot roast, and pulled out the 6 ingredients I needed.

It was so easy! It literally took 5 minutes to have it ready and in the pot cooking! After 6 hours, the roast was so tender that it just fell apart. I added the final ingredient (BBQ sauce) and made a sandwich.  I couldn’t believe it; my first crock pot attempt worked beautifully! These sandwiches are so good and it was seriously the easiest cooking session ever! It took about 10 minutes of my time and the crock pot did the rest 🙂  So thank you Donna for your awesome recipe! I am now going to be venturing into the recipe book and trying out more dishes. The slow cooker is my newest friend. I hope that you like these sandwiches too!

Donna’s Slow Simmering B-B-Q Sandwiches

Ingredients:

3lb beef brisket

1/2 cup water

3 Tbsp vinegar

2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp ground cumin

3 cups BBQ sauce


1. Place the beef brisket (or chuck roast) in the crock pot, add the water, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, and ground cumin. Make sure both sides of the beef get coated.

2. Cook in crock pot on Low 10-12 hours or High 4-6 hours. Avoid opening the lid to keep a constant temperature.

3. Once the beef is tender, use two forks to shred it.

4. Add BBQ sauce.

5. Serve on toasted Kaiser rolls or buns.

Yummy!!!


9 Responses to “Crock Pot Goodness”

  1. Krystn August 11, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    I’m going to have to try this out!!! It sounds REALLLLLY good. 🙂

  2. Manny August 11, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    Way to go girl!
    Thanksssss
    I love u!

  3. Carol Ann Hoel August 11, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Looks delicious and so easy. I have a crock pot and use it only once in a while. I will try this recipe. Thank you for sharing!

    • lovemeanyway August 11, 2010 at 11:46 am #

      You’re welcome! It is so easy and good, I hope that you like it too 🙂

  4. mahimahi production August 11, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    this sounds delicious!
    I’m a big crock-pot fan 🙂

  5. Robyn February 16, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    I’m making this for supper today 🙂 I’ll let you know how it goes! Thanks for the recipe!

    Robyn
    presifted.wordpress.com

    • lovemeanyway February 16, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      I hope that you like it! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Jessica

      • Robyn February 16, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

        It was so good!

        I used stewing beef because it was all I had, but it still turned out great! I also added a little maple syrup with the bbq sauce to mix it up a bit. My partner and I ate every bite of it. It’s a good sign when there are no leftovers!

        I’m going to serve this at a fundraiser that I’m planning, and I’m sure it will be a hit 🙂

        Thanks again for sharing this recipe!

        Robyn
        presifted.wordpress.com

Leave a comment