The Black Pearl

12 Aug

Yesterday I took my family visiting from Virginia to see a very cool sight, the Black Pearl from “Pirates of the Caribbean.”  If you didn’t know, they are filming “Pirates of the Caribbean 4: On the Stranger Tides” in Hawaii right now and the Black Pearl has been docked in the bay about 20 minutes from my house for the past two weeks.  I hadn’t gone to see it though because so many people had been posting pictures on their Facebook pages that I was vicariously living through them.

Here is a picture of Johnny Depp that one of my friends took last week at the pier.

Yesterday was the last day of filming in the location before the Black Pearl sets sail and journeys onward to find more sunken treasure.  They were only filming stunt scenes so none of the actors were there.  I attempted to get the guards to let us go closer to get a good shot, but I wasn’t successful 😉  We did, however, get some cool shots of the ship from the other side of the pier and from the beach.  My little niece was walking around saying, “Arrrr!” and there was another little boy with a pirate hat and sword…too cute!

As the sun was setting the glow of lights started to come from inside the Black Pearl.  I was thinking about how different it must have been traveling back in the days when big sailing ships were the only way to cross an ocean.  It must have been so beautiful and so scary at the same time. But then again if you had mentioned to a person from centuries ago the idea of flying through the sky at 500 mph it would have been unimaginable and terrifying!

Once we had gotten our fair share of photos and I had daydreamed a little, we headed back to the cars.  Everyone else stopped to take a couple more shots and as I approached the car I saw a cop writing us a parking ticket!  Bummer!  He got out of his car and I pointed out nicely how the signs for no parking were everywhere but where we parked and how it looked to me that you could park there.  The lines for the stalls are so faded in the old pier parking lot that you really can’t see some of them.  He wasn’t going for my explanation and was about to write a ticket for my mom’s car too! So, I went into nice pleading for him to “plleeeease” not give the other car a ticket too.  I said that “we had driven here just to see the ship and we really thought it was ok to park here” and that he didn’t have to write a ticket for the other car too. Well, he just got a smirk on his face and kept going over to the car, so I continued to tell him that we would leave right away if he would just please not give another ticket.  After a minute and another smirk, he said “Ok, you have 5 minutes to get out of here or I am gonna write one for the other car.”  Yes!!!  I yelled for the others to hurry back to the car and we left with only one $35 ticket.  Hey, it’s better than $70, right?!

Jessica

//

8 Responses to “The Black Pearl”

  1. Vanessa August 12, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Oh my gosh! Awesome! I’m so jealous you got to see it though :-P. Glad you had a good time and managed to get out of that second ticket as well!

    • lovemeanyway August 12, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      I didn’t realize it was gonna be so fun until I got there and actually saw it! Maybe it isn’t leaving the island yet, just Kaneohe, you might be lucky and still get to see it 🙂

  2. Krystn August 12, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    I’m so jealous that your friend posted pics of Johnny Depp! I would have just DIED if I saw him! 🙂

    I like your pics too! At least you got to see it before it left… And… I’m IMPRESSED with how you got out of the tickets!!! Sucha feisty one! HAHAHAHAH! 😀

    • lovemeanyway August 12, 2010 at 10:29 am #

      Yeah, my girlfriends who saw him said that their hearts were pounding and they were practically shaking with adrenaline when they saw him!

  3. Carol Ann Hoel August 12, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    Cool that he gave you a break on the second ticket! Thanks for sharing.

  4. mahimahi production August 12, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    that’s so cool! by the way that cop is an idiot…

    p.s.: So jealous of your friend! Johnny Depp is one of my favorite actors 🙂

    • lovemeanyway August 12, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

      I love Johnny Depp movies! My friends said he was really nice to everybody that was trying to get pictures of him.

Leave a Reply

