Growing in Faith

8 Feb

I always am amazed when I pray for God to speak to me or to give me insight into a situation, and then I open the bible and the first thing I read is as if it was written for exactly this moment.  I guess that is why they call it the “living word.”  It is not an old stagnant text. It is alive and as relevant today as it was a long time ago. God uses His word to speak to us.  I know that the idea of a “living word” can be hard for some people to accept. I used to be one of those people. But, I have experienced this “living word” now and I can’t imagine going back. I love turning to God for counsel and experiencing his presence. It really feels like he is in the room with me, talking to me. Amazing!

Yesterday, I had one of those experiences. I was praying for God to speak to me and to take over a situation. Then I opened the bible and it was 2 Peter 1:3.  It’s funny that I have read the whole new testament, but sometimes I come upon a scripture that I don’t recall ever reading.  This scripture was new again for me. Here is the scripture:

By his divine power, God has given us everything we need for living a godly life. We have received all of this by coming to know him, the one who called us to himself by means of his marvelous glory and excellence. And because of his glory and excellence, he has given us great and precious promises. These are the promises that enable you to share his divine nature and escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires.

In view of all this, make every effort to respond to God’s promises. Supplement your faith with a generous provision of moral excellence, and moral excellence with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with patient endurance, and patient endurance with godliness, and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love for everyone.

The more you grow like this, the more productive and useful you will be in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But those who fail to develop in this way are shortsighted or blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their old sins.

So, dear brothers and sisters, work hard to prove that you really are among those God has called and chosen. Do these things, and you will never fall away. Then God will give you a grand entrance into the eternal Kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. 2 Peter 1:3-11

Amen!

3 Responses to “Growing in Faith”

  1. Manny February 8, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Thank God for this word and thank you love for sharing.

  2. trademarkelane February 9, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    great post sunshine. I just wanted to drop you a note… I’m an Art Gallery Owner now!!! I took over the Max’ims building as Scott closed shop. Now it’s all mine! I re-named it Doug’s Hang Up after my long time working partner Doug Suggs who used to own Doug’s Hang Up in west gtown. We open officially on Friday. Website to follow, dougshangup.com!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Without Faith | The Third Cross Congregation - February 15, 2011

    […] Growing in Faith (lovemeanyway.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

