Passion and Truth

4 Jan

“My love for Mount Zion is passionate and strong; I am consumed with passion for Jerusalem!” Zechariah 8:2

God experiences passion for those that he loves.  So when we experience passion it is an emotion that has consumed God too. The difference for us is that we can fall into a passion for something which is not good in God’s eyes.  I believe that God wants us to be passionate for Him and His son, Jesus. He wants us to love with out holding back. To give our hearts fully to Him.

Have you felt this before? The sense of overwhelming love for God and the peace and joy that comes with it.  When we experience this overwhelming love for Jesus, we know that God too is feeling this for us.

Jesus said, “Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them.” John 14:21

In Zechariah 8, God told of his promises of blessings for Jerusalem through the prophet Zechariah. After speaking of God’s passion for Jerusalem, Zechariah received another message:

“For this is what the Lord of Heaven’s Armies says: I was determined to punish you when your ancestors angered me, and I did not change my mind, says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies. But now I am determined to bless Jerusalem and the people of Judah. So don’t be afraid. But this is what you must do: Tell the truth to each other. Render verdicts in your courts that are just and that lead to peace. Don’t scheme against each other. Stop your love of telling lies that you swear are the truth. I hate all these things, says the LORD.” Zechariah 8:14-17

Passion and Truth; these are just two of the things that God wants in our lives.

Happy new year!


3 Responses to “Passion and Truth”

  1. buttermilk80 January 4, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    There is a wonderfully sweet moment when we are busy with His work and we feel a sudden rush of emotion from His gentle touch. Unprovoked, unexpected, always welcome, a tear wells up.

    How beautiful is He who’s feet have stood on our behalf before the Majestic Father of Life!

    By His Grace.

    • lovemeanyway January 4, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      I love those moments… His presence is undeniable!

      God bless

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Glorify The Father – Part Two | The Third Cross Congregation - January 6, 2011

    […] Passion and Truth (lovemeanyway.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

