Get better quick…

25 Oct

So I had a cold this weekend that came on out of nowhere on Thursday evening and had me very uncomfortable through Saturday. But great thing is I was feeling a lot better by Sunday and today I am almost 100%.  So thought I would share a couple of get-over-your-cold-quick tips.

1. Hot tea. Preferably a Cold & Flu or Detox tea that you can get at most health food stores.  But don’t stop with just putting a tea bag in some hot water.  We make a super potent tea using this recipe:

Ingredients:

fresh ginger

cinnamon sticks (2 0r 3)

fresh lime

honey

Cold & Flu or Detox tea bag

-Cut up fresh ginger into little pieces (about a 1 inch piece of ginger is good).

-Put about 2 cups water in a pot. Add the ginger pieces.

-Cut up the lime and squeeze all the juice into the water

-Drop in the cinnamon sticks

-Add in some honey (I put several tablespoons)

-Bring the water to a low boil and let it simmer for about 10 minutes

-Use a strainer to pour the healing mixture into a big cup.

-Add a tea bag, cover, and let steep for ten minutes

2. Neti pot (looks like a little tea pot: You can find them at health food stores usually)

-This little pot does wonders for your sinuses. You heat up some purified water to lukewarm, add 1 teaspoon of sea salt and then put the sea salt water in the pot, lean over the sink, tilt your head to the side and put the spout to one nostril. The water will run through your sinuses and come out of the other nostril  (This does take some practice to get the angle of your head just right, but I figured it out quick the first time). I know, it sounds strange, and it does take some getting use to the first time you do it, but you will heal so much faster because it eliminates any infected mucus from your sinuses and the salt fights off the infection.

Here is a picture of a neti pot:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Emergen-C.

-Vitamin C and other vitamins are what most doctors will tell you is important for boosting your immune system.

 

So, that is my arsenal for colds:  Homemade Super Cold-fighting tea, the Neti pot, and Emergen-C.  Hope that you don’t get sick this winter season, but if you do maybe one or all of these tips will help you get better fast!

Oh, and how could I almost forget to say! My number one illness fighting strategy is prayer for healing.  I ask God for his healing powers to restore my health and thank Him for all he does for me!

Jessica

3 Responses to “Get better quick…”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel October 25, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Thank you for the good tips on getting rid of a cold quickly! Blessings to you…

  2. Jeff October 26, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Thank you for the great tips… I already use the neti pot – my large stainless steel one that I bought at http://www.healthandyoga.com/html/product/neti.html
    But, I sure will add your tea recipe to my things for a speedy recovery. Also, adding some turmeric to a cup of warm milk at night helps greatly.

    • lovemeanyway October 26, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

      Your welcome 🙂 Turmeric is an amazing plant! When I had a really bad ear infection that wasn’t getting better with antibiotics, I squeezed fresh turmeric root juice into my ear and let it sit for a couple minutes (with my head to the side) and it healed super fast! (My acupuncturist told me about turmeric for ear infections). I will try the turmeric in warm milk. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

