Unnoticed

6 Oct

Have you ever had something that you often do or say unconsciously brought to your attention?  I think it is so interesting that we can be totally unaware of our own mannerisms, habits, or speech until someone else comments on it.  I remember when I moved to Colorado after high school and my college roommate asked me, “Why do you always answer your own questions?”

It stopped me in my tracks, and I said, “Huh? What do you mean?”

She then pointed out that I always said, “yeah” after a question.  For example, “You want to go to the movies, yeah?”

Now this was a huge moment of realization for me because I then had to stop and think about why I said “yeah” and why my roommates didn’t.  I realized that in Hawaii lots of people use “yeah” in the same way as I do.  I guess it is kind of like how in Canada people say “eh” after statements.

It is also like how most people who haven’t traveled much will say that they don’t have an accent; other people have accents.  Until you are exposed to other places and people, it’s hard to see your own speech as different.

It makes you wonder what other things you do that people notice and you are oblivious too.  Sometimes we can think of ourselves as self-reflective individuals, but we still need outsider perspective to really see clearly.  There are always many sides to any situation.  It’s when someone takes the time to notice something about you and has the urge to talk to you about it, that you can really gain a greater understanding of yourself from a 3rd person perspective.

Have you ever had this happen? When someone brings something to your attention that you didn’t even realize you do?

4 Responses to “Unnoticed”

  1. Vanessa October 6, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    Actually it really bothers my boyfriend when I ask a question and end with “no?” instead of your “yeah”. It really is funny how these things go unnoticed.

  2. Carol Ann Hoel October 6, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    How interesting, Jessica. Yes, I did have something like that happen. I was born and lived in Ohio and Michigan. I moved to Tennessee and lived there for six months. During that time I worked for a law firm as a legal secretary. One day a lawyer told me he loved my accent. I was really surprised because I thought he was the one with an accent. Since I was living among people that all talked like he did, I was the one with the accent. We all speak with local dialects we learn. My grandmother spoke with Pennsylvania Dutch dialect and my husband has a Bostonian accent. Of course, I don’t have an accent. It’s everyone else, not I. Ha! Duh…

    • lovemeanyway October 7, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Haha! Isn’t it funny 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

