Attitude Adjustment

27 Sep

This weekend it became clear that I had a bad attitude.  A major case of the cup is half empty.  As I thought about things, my mind would focus on negative aspects and outcomes.  An outing that should have been fun, I turned into a disaster because of my attitude.  I was trying to keep my thoughts to myself and not let it be known that I was worrying unnecessarily about trivial things, but when you are around people who know you well it is an impossible feat.  The thing is about a bad attitude is that it is contagious like a virus.  When it takes a hold of one person, it spreads like an uncontrollable outbreak. It’s like your bad attitude needs company and it sets out to ruin everyone else’s attitude too.

I realized that I was always thinking of things that I “should” be doing (which I really didn’t need to be doing or worrying about) and it kept me from being the wife and friend that my husband, family, and friends deserve to have.  A bad attitude can destroy what matters most: relationships.   I see that I need an attitude adjustment; I need to see the cup as half full, to not worry about trivial things, and not whine and complain.

When the Israelites sent out scouts to the Holy Land, those scouts came back to camp to tell the others that they had found a land flowing with milk and honey, an abundant and prosperous land, but they also said “But the people living there are powerful, and their towns are large and fortified. We even saw giants there!” Numbers 13:28

They interpreted what they had seen as negative, they saw an “impossible feat” even though God has promised them otherwise.  The scouts’ bad attitude spread throughout the people and the Israelites cried, complained, and plotted.

There was an exception, though, two of the scouts Caleb and Joshua, had different attitudes, from the beginning they urged the others to not listen to the words of despair from the other scouts. Caleb proclaimed, “Let’s go at once to take the land. We can certainly conquer it!” Numbers 13:30

They trusted in God completely and it showed in their actions.

The others succumbed to bad attitudes that cost them greatly. This display of negativity and distrust in God’s promise to give them the Holy Land is why God had them turn around and go back into the desert that they had walked through as they left Egypt.  They spent 40 more years wandering around that desert because of their reaction to the scouts with negative mindsets.

I don’t want to wander through a desert.

I want to be like Caleb and Joshua; they are examples of people with positive attitudes.  I can’t be the person that God wants me to be with a bad attitude, this story clearly shows that.

What about you; is your cup half full or half empty?

6 Responses to “Attitude Adjustment”

  1. Vanessa September 27, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I try to see the cup as half full instead of half empty, but sometimes it’s a little hard. Especially when I have a lot going on. I know what you mean about trying to conceal your bad mood. I do that too, which just aggravates how I’m feeling even more.

    This is a great post though; very uplifting and encouraging! We all need to just take a few steps back to adjust and relax :).

  2. lovemeanyway September 27, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    It is definitely harder when I’m busier, but I found myself using that as an excuse instead of just adjusting and relaxing like you said 🙂

  3. Carol Ann Hoel September 27, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    Like you, I try to keep a good attitude. Sometimes I do, and sometimes I don’t. Like a porcupine, we bump into others and leave quills in them by our cranky words. When we get back our sweet spirit, life for all around us is better, too. 🙂 Blessings to you…

    • lovemeanyway September 27, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

      I like the comparison to a porcupine…so true! Blessings to you too 🙂

  4. Manny September 27, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Keep it up! I mean Keep it half! hahaha…

Leave a Reply

