Lip service

20 Sep

Sometimes I want to share, but I wonder what to say.  Afraid of saying the wrong thing, I say nothing at all.  How often that happens with people, I don’t know.  But I am sure there are millions of unsaid words floating through people’s minds.  Words that never were able to reach the person they were meant for. I wonder how many lives could have been different if some of those unspoken words had been spoken.

Jeremiah was afraid to speak when something amazing happened to him.  God spoke to him and gave him a message.

Jeremiah’s Call and First Visions

The LORD gave me this message:

“I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb.
Before you were born I set you apart
and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.”

“O Sovereign LORD,” I said, “I can’t speak for you! I’m too young!”
The LORD replied, “Don’t say, ‘I’m too young,’ for you must go wherever I send you and say whatever I tell you. And don’t be afraid of the people, for I will be with you and will protect you. I, the LORD, have spoken!” Then the LORD reached out and touched my mouth and said,

“Look, I have put my words in your mouth!
Today I appoint you to stand up
against nations and kingdoms.
Some you must uproot and tear down,
destroy and overthrow.
Others you must build up
and plant.” Jeremiah 1:4-10

Despite Jeremiah’s fear and excuse of being too young, he went out and spoke with the urging of God.  Not only did God urge him forward, he gave him the very words to say and protected him as he spoke them.

Jeremiah spoke and God’s word reached lives.

We too can speak and reach lives.

We each have a message to be shared that can only be shared by us.

“The message is close at hand; it is on your lips and in your heart.” Romans 10:8

Don’t keep your lips sealed; open up and speak!

2 Responses to “Lip service”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel September 20, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Good post, Jessica. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Manny September 21, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    Plant seeds everywhere; at work, school, beach, shopping etc.
    And God will collect them.

Leave a Reply

