Misguided Passion

25 Aug

Coming out of a sushi restaurant the other day, there was a car stopped behind mine in the parking lot.  I couldn’t leave, so I just sat in the driver’s seat and looked in my rear view mirror.  There was a young, good looking couple in the SUV.  I was thinking that any second the girl was going to move her car out of the way. But that is not what happened.  They appeared to be having an intense conversation and the girl was moving her hands around in the air as she talked. Then all of a sudden they were hitting each other in the face. It happened so fast I really couldn’t tell who hit who first.

The guy quickly got out of the car and stormed of across the parking lot.  The girl then put her car in reverse and sped back wards and around quickly.  I thought she was going to hit my car, but she didn’t and pulled into the spot beside mine.  I turned to look at her as she did and her eye was already swelling and purple/blue.   She jumped out of her car and ran off across the parking lot after the guy.  I sat there for a moment and took in what had just happened.

It is one of those moments where you don’t know what to do. You want to help in some way, but at the same time you don’t want to get in the middle of a fist fight.  I choose to pray for them as I drove home.  I still can see her face in my mind; a mix of anger, desperation, and passion.

What happens to us when our passion is for the world?  We let ourselves go down paths of self-destruction. We let ourselves be abused.

It is natural for us to feel passion.  We are driven by emotions and feelings.  But when our passion is misguided we can get ourselves into all kinds of trouble.

I am praying for all those that are in trouble, lost in misguided passion.  For all the victims of domestic violence.

One Response to “Misguided Passion”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel August 25, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    That is very sad. He must have hit her hard. I wouldn’t have known what to do but pray either.

Leave a Reply

