Getting Organized

9 Aug

This weekend, we spent a lot of time going through all of the kitchen, pantry, and laundry room drawers and cabinets.  During the process we found trash and we found forgotten treasures.  To name just some of the super old items that were added to our donation box was a coffee maker from the 70’s, 2 broken sewing machines, and countless other unused and unappreciated items.  The treasures were far fewer than the trash, but I now will be using a super cute file organizer, a slow cooker recipe book, and a Japanese tea set (unfortunately, as I was cleaning the spice shelf, a bottle of Worcestershire sauce fell onto the counter and shattered 3 of the cups, but the remaining 1 cup and kettle are super cute).

Honestly though, the feeling of opening any drawer and everything being clean and organized is priceless.  It made me think about how it is a good analogy for our lives.  We all have forgotten trash and treasure within our lives.  Now everybody always talks about the trash in our lives, unresolved issues, bad memories, etc, but what about the forgotten treasures.  The gifts that we have that we never spent the time or allowed to be developed, the dreams that we had that we pushed to the back of our minds as life got busier and responsibilities bigger.  Have you ever felt that you were being called to doing something, but never took action? I have. I still do.

Have you heard the parable of the two sons?  It goes like this:

“But what do you think about this?  A man with two sons told the older boy, ‘Son, go out and work in the vineyard today.’  The son answered, ‘No, I won’t go,’ but later he changed his mind and went anyway.  Then the father told the other son, ‘You go,’ and he said, ‘Yes, sir, I will.’  But he didn’t go.

“Which of the two obeyed his father?”

They replied, “The first.”  (Matthew 21:28-31)

So those callings in our lives that have become forgotten treasures, can still be carried out. As the parable suggests it is better to start late than to say that you will and never do it.  This blog is one of the callings in my life that I had pushed aside.  I feel like writing is a gift that could be developed in my life, but I wasn’t allowing it to grow.  I still have other callings that I haven’t taken any action towards, but I don’t want to be the second son who said he would and never did.  I am going to be doing a spring cleaning of myself, I want to find all of the forgotten treasures and use them for the glory of God.

What forgotten treasures are waiting for you to find them? I bet they are amazing!

Jessica

Word for today: Galatians 5:16-26

//

7 Responses to “Getting Organized”

  1. Carol Ann Hoel August 9, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Great post with a great lesson. I like the positive turn on finding the treasures while cleaning out the trash, renewing old forgotten plans, and doing what was not done before for whatever reason. In my life it will take some serious thought to discover those buried treasures. Thank you for sharing.

    • lovemeanyway August 9, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks! Yeah, cleaning would be such a drag if we couldn’t find treasures along the way 😉
      Jessica

  2. Krystn August 9, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    I look forward to hearing of your new slow cooker recipes!! 😀

    Man and you should see MY house. I think there is about 99% trash and 1% treasure. But. Who knows. I need to clean too!! x_x

    • lovemeanyway August 9, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      Hopefully the slow cooker pot roast I want to make tomorrow will turn out good and then I will post it 🙂

  3. Donna August 9, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    You’re amazing and inspiring! You do have a gift with writing! Please pray that God reveals to me his will and a path that I can start on to achieve it…He has been nudging me and I just need to quiet my mind and listen!!

    • lovemeanyway August 10, 2010 at 8:44 am #

      Thanks 🙂 I will be praying for you.
      Romans 15:13, Romans 12:2, Romans 12:6-8
      I thank God for your friendship!

      • Donna August 10, 2010 at 10:58 am #

        Mahalo sister!

Leave a Reply

