A Friend Crush

29 Jul

My girlfriend’s baby shower last night was a wonderful dinner at the Moroccan restaurant Casablanca with ten of us girls.  It was so good to just hangout, eat great food, and have girl talk.  After the shower three of us decided to go to one of our houses to drink a glass of wine and continue on in our girl’s night.  We talked until midnight and then I gave my girlfriend a ride home.  On the way she said that she was so happy that we were able to hangout and said that we both have a “friend crush” on our other new girlfriend.  I laughed and said, “A what?”  She then explained, “A friend crush, you know when you meet someone that you instantly know that you want to be their friend and you hope that you do become friends because you just get good vibes from them.”  I smiled and said “Oooh, a friend crush that’s great, yeah I totally have a friend crush too!” We then started talking about how we had totally had a friend crush on each other when we had first met and how grateful we were that our teacher had made us work together on a Portuguese class project since we have become such close friends.

I had never heard the phrase “friend crush” before, but I am now completely adopting it into my vocabulary. It is such a good way to explain that connection that I sometimes get when I meet a new girl and I just know that we have a lot in common.  It’s nice to have friend crushes and feel that sense of hope that you will make a new close friendship.  Life would be so bland without good friends!

So I hope that you too have some friend crushes real soon 😉

Jessica

3 Responses to “A Friend Crush”

  1. Jenny July 29, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    What a great expression! I’ve definitely had “friend crushes” before and a few of them have become lifetime friends. Its a definite, qualitatively different experience when you have a “friend crush” than when you just make a new “friend”. I’ve always known it but never had such an eloquent way to describe it. Thanks for the new addition to my lexicon.

    • lovemeanyway July 29, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

      Isn’t it awesome! Our lexicons are growing 😉

  2. Krystn July 30, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I like the term “friend crush”! I think I’ve had friend crushes when I first met my girl friends too!

Leave a Reply

