A New Song

20 Jul

Sometimes I sit and think about the past; where I have been, what I have done, the emotions that I have felt, and the people I have known along the way.  Not too long ago it was almost always a painful process and one that I would try to avoid because of a sickened feeling of shame and regret that would overtake me.  My mind would race over the mistakes that I’ve made and the consequences that ensued and each time I thought of them I would relive the emotions that I had felt at the time.  It often seems that the memories we want most to forget are the ones that chase after us unrelentingly.   To be freed from the torment that used to be unavoidable within my mind is a sweet gift that I will never stop being grateful for.

I heard a song the other day that reminded me of this, “I’m Not Who I Was” by Brandon Heath.  I love when I run into a song, poem or book that makes you feel like the author has felt the same as you.  Then I think about how beautiful it is that there is one author who has felt every feeling that I ever have and that by his grace everything is made new again.  He has given me a new song to sing.  Here is what I am singing about: Psalm 40:1-3 and Hosea 14.

Jessica

Leave a Reply

