Did I mention I love dessert?

17 Jul

I am just one of those people that if given the choice between dessert and an entree I would have to go with dessert. There is just something about a well made dessert that gets me every time and saying “no thanks” is just not an option.

The story of my latest irresistible delight begins with the planting of 4 little lilikoi (passion fruit) vines along our fence ten months ago.  Flash forward to June and the entire chain link fence is covered in vines and the ripe lilikoi are literally dropping by the dozens every day.  There is such an abundance that I am grateful to share with my neighbors so that none of it goes to waste.  Well, two weeks ago three adorable little kids appeared at my door asking if they could pick some of the fruit. So, I handed over a bag full to the sun-kissed trio and off they went.

A week later my husband called me at work to tell me that they had stopped by with their mom to “give the lady that gave us the lilikoi a piece of our lilikoi pie.”  They had carefully prepared two pieces of pie in a container and put two flowers on top of the lid for me!  I was so touched that they were so thoughtful and let me tell you it was SOOO GOOD!! The pie was just the right sweetness and the graham cracker crust was perfect. I told my husband that I had to get the recipe from their mom and, since I didn’t know what house they lived in, I just had to wait for them to come back for more lilikoi. It didn’t take long for the cuties to show back up and I am now in possession of the absolute best lilikoi pie recipe EVER!! I am serious with each bite I have to praise God for creating such wonderful things in this world!

So, don’t miss out on this one, get yourself some passion fruit and get in the kitchen! And don’t worry this recipe is so simple that even those not inclined to baking will make an awesome pie.

Lilikoi (Passion fruit) Pie

Ingredients:

  1. 10 graham crackers
  2. 6 tbsp. unsalted butter
  3. 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  4. 3/4 cup lilikoi (blended with the seeds)
  5. 4 egg yolks
  6. 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  7. whipped cream

Graham Cracker Crust:

Crush the crackers into crumbs. Add the butter (melted) and sugar. Mix well. Put into pie pan and mold to the bottom and sides. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

Lilikoi Pie Filling:

Whip the egg yolks in a medium bowl. Add the blended lilikoi and sweetened condensed milk. Blend well. Pour into baked graham cracker crust. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. The filling will still look a little jiggly when you take it out of the oven. Let it cool for 15 minutes. Then coat the top of pie with a layer of whipped cream.  Cover the pie and freeze.  Serve once it is chilled.

I truly hope that you enjoy this pie as much as we do!

Until next time,

Jessica

7 Responses to “Did I mention I love dessert?”

  1. trademarkelane July 18, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    You’re going to make me a god when I present this to my girlie. But where am I going to find the best lilikoi in Colorado!?

  2. lovemeanyway July 18, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Hi! I’m so glad that you want to try out the pie too!
    I suggest trying to find the pulp or juice if you can’t find the fruit itself. Colorado has a lot of health food stores, so I would check one of the big ones first.

    Good luck!
    Jessica

  3. Jenny July 18, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I can’t wait to try this pie. Hope there is still some lilikoi left when I get home!! Love your blog. You have found your calling. Can’t wait to check it every day.

    • lovemeanyway July 19, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      Thank you! Don’t worry I have enough lilikoi in the freezer to make about 50 pies!!

  4. Chris July 21, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    The pie was da best!!
    Thanks for letting me try it, as I said teaching and great cooks run in your family. Cant wait for the next surprize!

  5. foodisforever August 17, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Love those lilikoi… thanks for sharing this recipe. Save some of that frozen juice for lilikoi cheesecake!

    • lovemeanyway August 17, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

      Glad you like it! I have tons of containers full of lilikoi juice and pulp in the freezer 🙂 Lilikoi cheesecake sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

